• Port of HR Budget Committee Approves Bridge Toll Recommendation
    An increase in tolls for the Port of Hood River Interstate Bridge were a part of a 2017-18 budget being recommended by the Port’s budget committee this week.  The budget calls for an increase in cash tolls for passenger cars from $1 to $2, and from 93 cents to $1 for electronic tolling.  For large […]
  • Proposed Riverfront Trail Finish Includes Bridge
    The Dalles Riverfront Trail Committee presented City Councilors with a plan to complete the final section of the ten-mile long pedestrian and bicycle connection between the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center and The Dalles Dam, but it comes with a hefty price tag.  Committee chair Dan Durow says the plan involves either constructing a pedestrian bridge […]
  • The Dalles Selected As “Blue Zone” Community
    The Dalles has been selected to be one of the three latest Blue Zones Project Demonstration Communities in Oregon, which is intended to bring a community-led cross-sector approach to make it easier for people to make local choices.  Oregon Healthiest State, a privately led partnership supported by Cambia Health Foundation, announced The Dalles, Grants Pass, […]
  • April 20 Prep Sports Roundup
    Boys Soccer LaCenter 4, Columbia 1 King’s Way Christian 3, Stevenson 0   Track and Field Horizon Christian’s boys finished second and the girls sixth at the Southwest Christian Invitational.  Quinn Roetcisoender won the pole vault and the four by 100 meter relay team finished first for the Hawk boys, while for the girls Kaitlin […]
  • Thomsen Student Debt Bill Passes In Education Committee
    A student debt reform bill proposed by Oregon 26th District State Senator Chuck Thomsen passed unanimously in the Senate Education Committee.  The Millennials Relief Act would amend Oregon’s tax code to make student debt payments completely tax free.  The Hood River Republican says having Senate President Peter Courtney, a Democrat, as a chief sponsor of […]
  • Bingen & White Salmon Councils To Talk About Combining
    The City Councils of Bingen and White Salmon will meet on May 31 to discuss the pros and cons of combining the two cities into one.  The mayors of both cities have been discussing the possibility behind the scenes for a number of months, and talked to Councilors about it this week.  White Salmon Mayor […]